I See London! PT 2

After visiting Buckingham Palace, we went to lunch, then walked back towards the River Thames. Finally, we got a perfect view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament! Although I saw these sights on my last trip to England, they never fail to amaze me. The architecture is fabulous, and Big Ben is taller than ever. If I remember correctly… Big Ben is being renamed in honor of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee? Not sure how I feel about that… Big Ben will always be Big Ben to me. I obviously took a million pictures of Big Ben as                                                                                           we walked by, and even captured a few selfies with it, too.

Moving on from Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, we got to Westminster Abbey! I also saw this on my last trip, but this visit to the Abbey was especially memorable. The trip coordinators arranged for us to receive a tour inside!! This was always a dream of mine ever since the Royal Wedding. I absolutely love anything that has to do with weddings, so William and Kate’s marriage was just a thrill to follow. I watched the wedding on TV, and ever since then I wanted to go inside the Abbey. I was breathless when I walked inside. It was everything I imagined, and WAY more. I looked over to my best friend, and I think we both teared up a bit. It was just that gorgeous. I never knew there was so much inside other than the church! There were graves of a bunch of different people who have made a huge impact on history all over the world. The one that stuck out to me the most was Charles Darwin, since I am sort of a science/biology nerd. It was cool to think I was standing right over the man who made such a huge impact on the discovery of evolution! We continued on our tour, which unfortunately bored me to death. I think I have already mentioned this, but I am NOT a fan of history by any means. This tour was all history based, so I was a little miserable. I just kept reminding myself  *You’re in THE Westminster Abbey. You will probably never get this opportunity to come in here again. Enjoy it!”*

After Westminster Abbey, we took a quick trip over the River Thames to visit the Globe Theater, famous because of Shakespeare. This theater was awesome! It was open air seating, circled around the stage in the center. Unfortunately, the theater was under construction so we did not get to see it up and running and in full effect, but it was still interesting to see where Shakespeare had his plays performed!

                                                       

Next we hopped on a double decker bus and headed to the London Palladium to see the play, The Wizard of Oz! We got dressed in our most fancy attire, and headed to the theater. The play was definitely unlike anything I have seen before. It was great, don’t get me wrong. But it had a sort of “trippiness” to it. There were tons of flashing rainbow lights, weird scenery, and hilarious actors. Even though the play was a little strange, it didn’t fail to make me laugh! I remember at one point, my best friend and I were crying from laughing so hard. That’s when you know you’re having an awesome time. After the play, we hopped on the train and headed back to our hotel in Greenwich. Sadly the next day would be our last full day in the gorgeous country of England. 😦

Leave a comment